whatismesummary – The Hummingbirds’ Foundation for M.E.

Standard
whatismesummary – The Hummingbirds’ Foundation for M.E.

whatismesummary – The Hummingbirds’ Foundation for M.E..

.What Is Myalgic Encephalomyelitis?

Dr Byron Hyde in Canada has definite ideas

we assume he uses good science

to be fair most of what I’ve read  seems to me to be very good research.

www.nightingale.ca

where you shall find his link to his Nightingale  Definition of M.E….a pdf file.

then there’s

http://www.name-us.org/DefinitionsPages/DefOverview.htm

with links to Drs Dowsett & Ramsay

& others.

.Dr Rob Yates, who worked in the Sudan in the midst of their famine keeping as many children & babies alive as he could Later he worked at the local Aboriginal Co-op where, one Sat arvo he was on call doc and took a phone call from my then partner.

He came to the house & after taking a look at me lying collapsed in the bed and rang an ambulance and the hospital and I was admitted pronto!  I have very vague recollection of that  day, except relief to have finally found a doctor who didn’t just dismiss me as hysterically neurotic.

He later said if I’d been left in that bed another 24 hours without treatment I’d have died…3 & a half years: bronchitis, pneumonia lung infections coughing blood diarrhoea vomitting and so so so much pain

and not one so called doctor in the area would put a stethoscope to my chest.  just tell me to go back to the psychiatrist…and the shrink who was crazier than his patients saying What are you coming to me for? Go see a GP.

And this almost killed me.

To Dr Rob Yates I owe my life.  He not only made sure I didn’t die just yet, he also got me out of bed, onto my feet, move into my own house (away from the ex) and take up the reins of being a real mother to my toddler daughter..

Under his care my illness gained a name.

 .

About M.E. In The 21st Century

At time of writing, I live in Oz, am a 61 y o grandmother, have had M.E. for about 33 years along with Fibromyalgia and Bilateral Tenosynovitis, among other health problems. The blog isn't really about me. Sure some of it will be, but mostly it's about M.E. and how it affects people who have it, and the ways M.E. patients are treated (or not treated) by the medical profession, allied health industry, disability groups, and their families & friends. There will be other subjects commented upon too. I really cannot, refuse to, concentrate on just one area of interest to the exclusion of everything else. I intend to update this info later.

Leave a Reply

