Standard

Add your thoughts here… (optional)

ValerieTarico.com

In the autumn of 1978 the Washington Association of Churches and the Washington State Catholic Conference jointly published a six page pamphlet they called, “Abortion: An Ecumenical Study Document.” Their work offers a fascinating snapshot of Christian thinking at the time and raises some equally fascinating questions about what, exactly, has happened in the last thirty-five years.

The pamphlet does not contain a position statement. Quite the opposite, in fact. From the beginning, the authors explain that such an agreement is impossible:

Clearly there is no Christian position on abortion, for here real values conflict with each other, and Christian persons who seek honestly to be open to God’s call still find themselves disagreeing profoundly.

At the time, five years had passed since the Roe v. Wade decision, and the Church, broadly, was wrestling with ethical and spiritual complexities the decision brought to the surface. The WAC, which existed “to…

View original post 3,429 more words

About M.E. In The 21st Century

At time of writing, I live in Oz, am a 61 y o grandmother, have had M.E. for about 33 years along with Fibromyalgia and Bilateral Tenosynovitis, among other health problems. The blog isn't really about me. Sure some of it will be, but mostly it's about M.E. and how it affects people who have it, and the ways M.E. patients are treated (or not treated) by the medical profession, allied health industry, disability groups, and their families & friends. There will be other subjects commented upon too. I really cannot, refuse to, concentrate on just one area of interest to the exclusion of everything else. I intend to update this info later.

2 responses »

  1. I am an advocate of choice. I know with my health even though it doesn’t cause me physical danger from pregnancy, I sometimes am unable to pick up my 3.5 kg dog, how could I properly look after a baby. Beyond that I see enough stories out there of mothers and children having fibro, and I wouldn’t want to pass my genetics onto a child. Also as a victim of rape I feel no woman should be forced to have that child unless they want to. I understand people will disagree with me, but my opinion will not change. I certainly think contraception is a far better choice but if it fails I am definitely pro choice!

    Like

  2. I agree re: pro choice.
    Women have been choosing to terminate their pregnancies since time immemorial. And will continue to do so. Whether the laws allow them or not. Many have died or suffered horrendous health problems using unsafe methods. And many women & girls, not knowing how or daring to terminate, have endured unwanted pregnancies, forced marriages, societal condemnation & severely blighted lives.
    Safe informed affordable legal terminations with quality medical care is the only realistic option. It must be only between the woman and her doctor.
    Not legislators. Not religious do-gooders. Not even her family can demand she endure 9 months of unwanted pregancy. risk her life giving birth then bear the full brunt of child rearing. They do not have the right to force her into submission to their morality…if morality is what such demands can be called.
    Whether or not I or you or anyone else chooses to, or not to, continue with a pregnancy is no one else’s business.
    Contraception is fine, if you can afford it, live in a country where it is freely cheaply available, if you are able to use what is available, if your body can cope without too many side-effects, if it actually works at the time you need it to. And if your religion hasn’t convinced you it is a sin to use. Contraception is another issue where it is no one else’s business

    And not one type of contraception is 100% perfect.

    And of course whether a woman became pregnant because she did or did not use contraceptive should have no bearing on whether or not she should terminate her pregnancy.

    I’m sorry to read that you were raped. An absolutely awful experience. Have you had support to help you deal with the trauma? To enable you to move on, to overcome.
    If you would like to discuss it, in private & in confidence of course, please let me know and I’ll send you my email address, or if your prefer, my phone number. No pressure, only if you want.
    Hugs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

