Shabbat Shalom.

Standard

Shabbat Shalom.

Another cold wet drizzly day.

Another day lived in & close to warm bed.

The clouds are grey…light grey, dark grey, steel grey, all shades of greys…  drifting across the unseen sky.  So much water floating on the wind above our heads.

Looking across to the hills, they are swathed in grey, invisible.

The trees beyond the tennis courts are hazy, misty, the cloud is so low the buildings hidden.  An elven wood scene.

There is some bird song…indian minors mostly…with an occasional call from a wattlebird, lazily answered by a raven.

All hidden away in the trees.

Accenting the magic silence. 

I took some stale bread out to the compost. Tossed it across the ground.  Mr Magpie came down & selected a slice to take home to his kids.

I picked two red tomatoes in my almost vegie garden.

Almost because it’s a 7 foot square in the lawn…tomatoes grew themselves with just a little help from me…and I’ve planted a couple of short rows of onions…not sure what kind of onions…they came out of a pot someone else sowed.  They could have been leeks (but the leaves are wrong) or shallots (still possible) or spring onion (nope) or brown onions (maybe)

Anyhow, they’re shooting up very vigorous & by the end of winter we’ll enjoy cooking with them…well, Bob will cook…I’ll enjoy the eating.

And that’s my vegie patch…I’ve got lots of plans.

I started digging soon after moving into the house, Sept going on Oct.  At first I could only manage a couple of turns with fork & spade and had to stop…the sweat pouring off me in rivers…legs wobbly & barely able to hold me erect as I staggered to a seat…heart pounding…frustrating to be so unable.

But I was able…I took me a month to acheive a small 3 foot x 5  foot…and discovered the tomato seedlings self-planted from food scraps.

Then, of course, I looked at my handiwork.(& footwork).  It looked like a gravesite, just the right shape & length…if the neighbour disappeared this’d be the first place the coppers’d look, underneath my vegie patch…lol…the brown earth fresh turned, only the headstone missing…so I dug some more and soon had it looking more square…

A little bit of digging whenever I am able.  About once or twice a week, usually.   Even though it is exhausting & causes such pain and takes such a long time to finish.  I always feel better, the muscles & fibres (even damaged ones) feel stronger after a little work.  I can slowly dig over up til 6 spade fulls of ground in one session…too much work is counterproductive & I always pay the price of pushing myself to do 7 or 8. 

So that’s my vegie garden.  Tomatoes are just about finished…weather is becoming too cold for them…all through summer & autumn we’ve had a steady supply of a couple of fresh-picked tomatoes a day…more than enough for the two of us.

 Oniony-things are happily soaking up the rainfall.  The garden is in a good spot…so far I haven’t had to water…there is a steady seepage of water through the soil as it moves down the hill.

Thus it’s mostly a self-watered vegie patch.

We have had such rain here…all the rivers throughout Gippsland are in flood….tonight Lakes Entrance is expecting a King Tide and the lakes are already awash with floodwaters.

Sand bags everywhere

and lots of closed roads.

We’re okay here on this hillside.  The ground under the thick grass is like saturated sponge. Good to be high & in this case, dry.

Thank God.

The pictures of the Gippsland Floods 2012 are great.  www.abc.net.au/gippsland then follow the link.

It a huge area…100’s & 100’s of miles mountains, hills, valleys, rivers, creeks, all water flowing down into the overfull Lakes.

Gippsland Lakes was the world’s bigget fresh water lake system in the southern hemisphere…no longer fresh but salt water since the opening at Lakes Entrance was built.  Still is a huge area.  And there’s water everywhere throughout the riverine .

So much water and the skies are still full of dense heavy clouds. There’s more to come.

About M.E. In The 21st Century

At time of writing, I live in Oz, am a 61 y o grandmother, have had M.E. for about 33 years along with Fibromyalgia and Bilateral Tenosynovitis, among other health problems. The blog isn't really about me. Sure some of it will be, but mostly it's about M.E. and how it affects people who have it, and the ways M.E. patients are treated (or not treated) by the medical profession, allied health industry, disability groups, and their families & friends. There will be other subjects commented upon too. I really cannot, refuse to, concentrate on just one area of interest to the exclusion of everything else. I intend to update this info later.

3 responses »

  1. Hi!
    You seem very sensitive and receptive for nature. I love caring little plants too, I have a little balcony where I have some flowers, basil and parsley 😉
    Take care!

    Like

    • Hello Kinusan…yes, I am happiest outside enjoying nature with all its wonders. Plants & birds with the ground under my feet, the sky as roof above my head, seeing all the way across to the horizon.
      I love to feel the warm sun on my skin, the wind in my hair, even the rain on my face. Not just fair weather but all kinds…hot cold, clear sunny or overcast drizzly or even stormy. And at night I love watching the clouds scudding across the face of the moon and could gaze for hours at the stars.

      Two of the hardest things about becoming ill was 1) being unable to travel and 2) being stuck inside, within four walls, for long periods of time, separated from Nature.

      There is something very special about growing things. I’m sure your flowers & basil & parsley do more than look & smell beautiful…they feed and nourish your soul.
      Take care also, Kinusan.
      And thank-you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

