Week’s End.

Standard

WEEK’S END.

It’s Friday and another wet, cold, rain falling in gentle flurries.

There is snow falling on Mt Baw Baw…and on other mountains in the High Country I should think. A pretty winter wonderland soon to be filled with skiers. Best viewed on a postcard.

I woke up feeling like I’d been run over by the proverbial Bondi Tram.  The bed’s been a torture rack.  How can a soft mattress be so hard?  Sore in a lot of places, a lot of sharp pain deep in my hips.  Had to get up and make the coffee.  Walking around the kitchen, slowly loosening up my spine & hips & shoulders too, stretching ever so carefully while the kettle boils…gritting against protesting tendons & muscles. Ouch, ouch ouch!

It takes about 2 hours to coax my body into moving without excess pain.  Slowly but surely I can flex most fibres with less & less pain.  Pain never goes away completely…ever…today though I’m okay without the morphine. At least, for a while yet.

I made it outside…wandered down to the compost heaps, circled the tomato bed & back…twice.  It may be a cold wet day but the view across to the Jeeralangs is wonderful, with thick black clouds roiling across the hills.   I took a couple of photos…and patted Puss the miniture panther, who came to say hello. The sun came out & warmed my face…the rest of me was well covered. 

Inside I washed a couple of dishes, managed to dry & put away the cutlery (mostly teaspoons).

another cuppa and back to bed…where this laptop is set up on an over-bed trolley…relaxing with Bob as he wakes up.

In a while, I’ll wander back to the kitchen…probably on my way through on one of my multiple trips to the loo…and check out the cupboards for lunch.  There’s fresh bread & some cold meat…or I could attack the strawberries.  Or both…depending how I feel.

Bob has just left for work.  He may be back later, about 6 or 7-ish…to eat …maybe tomato soup & cold lamb sangers…sounds good…then maybe around mid-night if it’s not too busy. He’s a taxi-driver, and a very good one (& I’m only a little bit biased).  He is also a good man…a rarity I treasure…Amazing to think we’ve been together 11 years. And still enjoying each others company…well…most of the time.  Bob works long long hours night & day shifts, most weekends.

More about him later………..maybe.

probably.

for sure…

It takes a fair while to type this…and lots of backspacing & other corrections.

I love typing…some people love playing pianos & other keyboards…but the qwerty keyboard is my thing.  I used to be able to type 65 to 70 wpm…my shorthand was never that fast…lol

I would type to music…keeping the rhythm, the keystrokes dancing to the beat.  Can’t do that now…not yet….one day I will relearn the skill…maybe.

One of the first signs of M.E. was suddenly mis-typing words…such as department…& it kept coming out on the paper as departmnet…time & time again I found myself having to backspace & correct…time & again I’d type it again…departmnet.  I later found this was due to the nerves in my right arm firing quicker than those in the left. d=left hand e = left hand p = right a=left r= left t= left m = right  e = left n = rightt t = left.

and the n right stroke kept hitting the key quicker the e left stroke.

At one stage the electrical activity was looked at by a neurologist…Nerve Conduction Test. 

I thoroughly do NOT recommend this one.  It was soooooo incredibly agonising painful…yet the neurologist, after affirming the slowed nerve conduction…lost interest.  He was too totally into Epilepsy…and M.E. wasn’t on his agenda.  Not his field of neurology.  Still at least he proved I didn’t have a pinched nerve in my carpal tunnel…though my GP actually asked for the nerve conduction test to investigate my neck & wasn’t done.  But there’s no way I’m volunteering again to be zapped & zapped with excruiating electrical pain.

There’s no cure anyway…so why bother.

Hmmm….yep. More later:

Perhaps!!!

About M.E. In The 21st Century

At time of writing, I live in Oz, am a 61 y o grandmother, have had M.E. for about 33 years along with Fibromyalgia and Bilateral Tenosynovitis, among other health problems. The blog isn't really about me. Sure some of it will be, but mostly it's about M.E. and how it affects people who have it, and the ways M.E. patients are treated (or not treated) by the medical profession, allied health industry, disability groups, and their families & friends. There will be other subjects commented upon too. I really cannot, refuse to, concentrate on just one area of interest to the exclusion of everything else. I intend to update this info later.

Leave a Reply

